Roles

 

Assigning Roles

TA, Teacher, Marker, Auditor, etc.

Please note: the auditor role should be used for "students" who are not officially registered as "auditors" but are sitting in on your class (e.g. staff or faculty members who are taking the course but not for credit). The Teacher role can be used for a colleague who is co-teaching your course or filling in for you.

Setting up a TA [Teacher, Marker, Auditor]:

  1. Log into ACORN and enter your course.
  2. On the upper left of the page click on Participants (view image).
  3. Click on the Enrol users button (view image), then select Teaching Assistant [Teacher, Marker, Auditor] from the Assign role drop-down list (view image).
  4. In the Search box start typing your TA's [co-Teacher's, Marker's, Auditor's] username (e.g. 0123456a, jsmith) and click on the name when it appears. It should now appear beside Select users above. Click on the Enrol users button (view image). [If you don't know your co-Teacher's username, then start typing the first or last name and a list should appear. Select them from the list.]
  5. If you wish, you can set specific enrollment dates.
    • To the far right of the enrolled user's name, click on the gear icon Gear icon (Edit enrolment) (under the Status column).
    • Enable and set the Enrolment starts and Enrolment ends dates and times and click on the Save changes button.
  6. Use the bread crumbs at the top to make your way back to the main course page.

Removing a TA [Teacher, Marker, Auditor]:

  1. Log into ACORN and enter your course.
  2. On the upper left of the page click on Participants (view image).
  3. Under the Status column, click on the trashcan to the right of the name of the person you want to remove, then click on the Unenrol button to confirm the removal.
  4. Use the bread crumbs at the top to make your way back to the main course page.
Viewing Courses as Other Roles
  1. Log into ACORN and enter your course.
  2. Near the top right corner of the window, click on the drop-down menu beside your name, select Switch role to... and then click on the role by which you wish to view your course (e.g. Student).
  3. You will now be able (for the most part) to see your course as that role sees it.
  4. When you are done, select Return to my normal role by clicking on the drop-down list again and selecting Return to my normal role.